“High-end & timeless
bespoke designs”

Maison Bourgeat is a creator of unique and personalised frames. While our models follow the evolving trends, tastes and wishes of our customers, the artisan skills involved remain unchanged. The same high standards, the same excellence, and a careful focus on precision and detail lie at the heart of our approach to eyewear, an ethos adopted by our Jura ateliers ever since our foundation in 1879.

At Maison Bourgeat, each pair of glasses is designed, worked and finished with outstanding mastery of traditional skills, and in the purest Jura tradition, guaranteeing craftsmanship and quality. Our creations combine luxury and comfort. A bespoke pair of glasses, whether optical or for the sun, is an extension of your personality and can be classic, modern, eccentric, discreet or original.

The design stages

Together we create the right pair
of glasses for you

Maison Bourgeat Workshop overview in Morez

An intimate collaborative process

The first meeting takes place in our workshop and store on Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré. A decisive moment when the eyewear designer starts the creative journey by listening to the customer's wishes, studying their body language and facial expressions. At the end of these discussions, and after trying out several frames, the craftsperson sketches a shape, and the frame gradually emerges.

Measuring up

An essential part of acquiring a customised frame, our craftsperson defines the morphology of the face with a number of key measurements. The ridge of the nose, pupillary distance, width of the face, cornea to lens distance, and the distance between the ears and head are all essential items of technical data when creating a bespoke model. An eye exam and the advice of an expert optician can also be provided to help choose your lenses.

Fittings and adjustments

A PVC or Perspex prototype of the frame is made in our workshop. These flexible materials allow us to make the final technical adjustments essential for your comfort. Nothing is left to chance. After this second meeting, we approve your final frame together, and the work of manufacturing your glasses can begin.

Production and handover
of the finished object

It takes the craftsperson several weeks to create a bespoke frame in our workshops - either in Paris or the Jura, depending on the model chosen and the material selected. A pair of custom-built glasses requires the eyewear-maker to perform between 120 and 200 different steps to complete the frame. The finished object is handed over to the customer during a final fitting in the store when the last details are checked. The lenses are also mounted and adjusted at this time.

Materials

Maison Bourgeat designs feature only
the most exceptional materials

Cellulose acetate

This natural polymer obtained from cotton extracts and wood pulp allows great freedom in the design of original and modern eyewear models. A light and flexible material, cellulose acetate still requires many hours of work and seasoned expertise to produce a made-to-measure model. In terms of design, the possibilities are endless and can include collages and overlays.

Buffalo horn

Soft and solid at the same time, buffalo horn is a 100% natural, durable and environmentally-friendly deluxe material. Working with buffalo horn requires exceptional craftsmanship, and perfect mastery of the different manufacturing stages. Each slab of horn is unique: its natural wood-like colouring and the particular way in which it captures the light will vary from piece to piece, making this a remarkable material.

Tortoiseshell *

A rare and highly valuable living and hypoallergenic organic material, tortoiseshell is the queen of eyewear. Featuring a rich and infinite variety of reflections ranging from dark brown to honey blonde, this ultra-light and translucent material is used to create extraordinary frames. Requiring all the skills of an artistic profession, making tortoiseshell glasses demands patience and precision.

Metal

Maison Bourgeat is currently the only brand offering all-metal bespoke frames. These models are made in the firm's Jura workshop, in the purest tradition of eyewear artisans. Metal is ideal for a strong and light frame with a discreet and delicate design that highlights the shape of the face.

* Maison Bourgeat is committed to working with tortoiseshell in compliance with current legislation.

For more information: ​www.cites.org

“Des créations sur mesure
haut de gamme & intemporelles”

Maison Bourgeat est un créateur de montures uniques et personnalisées. Si les modèles suivent au fil du temps les tendances, les goûts et les envies de nos clients, les gestes artisanaux, eux, restent inchangés. Même exigence, même excellence, et bien sûr le souci de la précision et du détail sont au coeur de notre métier de lunetier, et ce depuis notre création en 1879 dans nos ateliers jurassiens.

Chez Maison Bourgeat, chaque paire de lunettes est donc dessinée, travaillée et finalisée dans la plus grande maîtrise des gestes centenaires, et dans la plus pure tradition jurassienne, gage de savoir-faire et de qualité. Nos créations allient luxe et confort. Une paire de lunettes qu’elle soit solaire ou optique est l’extension d’une personnalité : classique, moderne, excentrique, discrète, ou originale.

Les étapes de créations

Ensemble, créons la paire qui vous ressemble

Maison Bourgeat Vue de l’atelier de façonnage à Morez

Une collaboration intimiste

La première rencontre se fait dans notre atelier-boutique rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré. Un moment décisif où le lunetier débute son travail en écoutant les désirs du client, étudiant avec attention le langage corporel ou encore la mobilité du visage. Au bout de cet échange, et après quelques essayages, l’artisan croque une forme, et la monture se dessine peu à peu.

La prise de mesures

Passage obligatoire d’une monture sur mesure, notre artisan défini la morphologie du visage au moyen de quelques mesures clés. Arête du nez, écart pupillaire, largeur de la face, distance cornée-verre, écartement des oreilles, autant de données techniques indispensables pour créer un modèle personnalisé. Un examen de la vue et les conseils d’un opticien expert peuvent aussi être prodigués pour le choix des verres.

Essayages et ajustements

Un prototype de la monture en PVC ou en plexiglas est réalisé au sein de notre atelier. Ces deux matières souples permettent les derniers ajustements techniques indispensables à votre confort. Rien n’est laissé au hasard. A l’issue de ce deuxième rendez-vous, nous validons ensemble votre monture finale, et le travail de confection peut commencer.

Fabrication et découverte de l’objet final

Plusieurs semaines sont nécessaires à l’artisan pour réaliser une monture personnalisée dans nos ateliers - de Paris ou du Jura, en fonction du modèle choisi et de la matière sélectionnée. Il faut savoir qu’une paire de lunette sur mesure demande au lunetier entre 120 et 200 étapes différentes pour sa conception. L’objet final est remis en main propre au client, lors d’un dernier essayage à la boutique, avec vérification des ultimes détails. C’est aussi le moment où l’on pose et ajuste les verres.

Les matières

Dans ses créations, Maison Bourgeat
travaille uniquement des matériaux d’exceptions

L’acétate de cellulose

Ce polymère naturel obtenu à partir d’extraits de coton et de pulpe de bois permet une grande liberté dans la conception de modèles de lunettes originaux et modernes. Matière souple et légère, l’acétate de cellulose n’en demande pas moins de longues heures de travail et un savoir faire chevronné pour réaliser un modèle à votre mesure. Coté design, les possibilités sont infinies, comme des collages ou des superpositions.

Le métal

Maison Bourgeat est aujourd’hui l’unique enseigne à vous proposer des montures tout en métal. C’est dans son atelier du Jura que ces modèles sont confectionnés, dans la plus pure tradition des artisans lunetier français. Idéal pour une monture solide et légère, au design discret et délicat, qui met en valeur la forme du visage.

L’écaille de tortue *

Matière organique rare et hautement précieuse, vivante et anallergique, l’écaille de tortue est la reine des matières en lunetterie. Riche d’infinis reflets qui vont du brun foncé au blond miel, ultra légère et translucide, c’est le matériau des montures extraordinaires. Elevé au rang de métier d’art, la réalisation de lunettes en écaille de tortue demande patience et précision.

La corne de buffle

Doux et solide à fois, la Corne de buffle est un matériau noble 100% naturel, durable et écologique. Travailler la corne de buffle demande un savoir faire d’exception, et une maîtrise parfaite des étapes de fabrication. Chaque plaque est unique : sa couleur naturelle plus ou moins boisée, la façon particulière dont elle capte la lumière, autant de particularités qui en font une matière remarquable.

* Maison Bourgeat s’engage à travailler l’écaille de tortue dans le respect des législations en vigueur.

Pour plus d’informations : ​www.cites.org